I finished another knitting project. Hooray!

K on treeOccasionally, I still find time to knit. And since I haven’t been knitting much, I’ve been interested in knitting shawls, especially garter stitch ones that I don’t require a gauge swatch or any thinking, really at all.

Also, we’ve been on this kick lately to get rid of things because we have stuff and our apartment was small. So I decided to kill 2 birds with one stone, and do an awesome, beautiful, easy stash-buster shawl! What was great about this was that I got to stash-bust 3 different yarns, and I ended up with a gorgeous shawl! How’s that for luck?

The pattern is called Slain by Lisa Mutch, and, unlike what I usually do, I sorta closely copied her colorways and followed the pattern exactly. No creativity whatsoever. Huzzah!

The lovely S is my model

The gray yarn is Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine in Salt & Pepper. I had about a half skein leftover from when S made a pair of gloves for the Artist. (Ok, she had a half skein leftover, but let’s be honest. She wasn’t planning to use it.) We’ve probably had that yarn for about a year and a half.

The black yarn is one of the oldest yarns in my stash. Knit Picks Gloss Fingering in Black. This yarn has been in my stash since 2010, when I bought it for the incredibly stupid idea of making cabled gloves on size 1 needles with it. (Why was that stupid? The yarn is black so there’s no contrast. You can’t see what you’re doing, at all.) Thankfully this project wasn’t intricate and did not require any looking at what I was doing. (OK, maybe a tiny bit).

The third, and most beautiful yarn in this shawl, is Madeline Tosh Merino Light in Tart. This was a gift from a friend of mine during our knitting group’s secret Santa before we moved. I always thought it was so beautiful, I couldn’t find a place to use it. So I finally decided this shawl was the one. And I think it looks pretty darn good.

Colors!

What I like about this shawl is that it’s completely asymmetrical. All the short rows are on one side, and the shawl is long and thin, almost more like a scarf. The design has movement and depth and beauty.

And it’s garter stitch, so easy knitting, blocking and wearing abound!

I’ll leave you with one last photo before I go. The front (aka, the short side!)

The front.

One thought on “I finished another knitting project. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

