A Fun Weekend

K on treeThis weekend was pretty fun. And a little epic. On Friday night I made coconut chicken fingers for dinner (yes, those are chicken fingers breaded with coconut. Yum!), played video games with the Artist, then after S got home from her dance performance, we watched Human Planet and learned all about how awesome people live in the jungle.

I must admit that I’m a little bit of a sucker for documentaries, particularly those narrated by David Attenborough. I know that Human Planet is not narrated by him, but let’s be honest, John Hurt sounds like him.

So on Epic Friday last week, I noticed that we live close to a salon school that was offering $15 haircuts. Now, you might call that a risk, but I have maddeningly easy hair to deal with. I mean, seriously, it looks as good messy as it does brushed, so I don’t worry much about my haircuts because it always looks good anyway.

I found some pinspirations and went along to the salon Saturday afternoon to get my hair cut. My stylist was about to graduate, and totally stoked about the cut I wanted because she would get to use her brand new shears for the first time (students are so excitable! It’s awesome!)

After an hour and forty-five minutes, I ended up with an awesome haircut. The stylist was a perfectionist, and wanted to be sure she didn’t miss any hair, so that’s why it took so long. I felt bad because the Artist and I had appointments at the same time, and I figured he must have been waiting forever. But his haircut took an hour and a half, so he didn’t have to wait for me long! Turns out he got a brand new student who didn’t really know much, so he got passed around to 3 different people to get his hair cut. Oh well, I guess that’s the coin you flip with going to a salon school for a haircut. And how do they look?

20140426_183247As you can see by this wonderful image, they both look amazing.

Yes, that is the only picture I have of the Artist’s new haircut.

On Saturday night we went to a dance performance with the beautiful S, which was a wonderful and moving Hamlet story. I cried. It was good. Then afterwards there was a pajama dance party, which exactly 6 people stayed for, making it the best dance party ever since we knew everyone and had tons of space to be ridiculous.

Speaking of ridiculous, Sunday there was a bicycle festival in our neighborhood. So we went, and what did we find there?

Hula hoops.

Yes.

photo (5)

20140427_134358

And then on Sunday night, the Artist and I decided to go on a date. So I looked up movie times, we picked out a movie, and got to the theater where we discovered said movie was not playing. Chagrined, I re-checked the listing online. Whoops. I was looking at the listing for a similar theater name in a different state.

Deciding to make the best of it, we went to the gourmet grocery nearby for some cheese, wine and prosciutto so we could have a fancy cheese plate while we watched a movie at home. And boy was it fancy.

photo (6)

I felt so smart and classy when I realized I could use our chalk markers to write on the wooden cutting board and the glass bowls. It’s hard to see from this angle, but the bowls with the jam and honey in them are labeled too.

That was a tasty date, until I went and spilled an entire glass of red wine on the carpet. Then we had a bit of a freakout, a lot of blotting, and a frantic trip to the store for some Oxi Clean, but after that the carpet was as good as new! Yay!

 

 

One thought on “A Fun Weekend

  1. Sounds like all are having a great time. I really like the bike festival (hula hoops). I’m glad you are having such fun times. I miss you. I like the artist’s hair cut. LOL

Leave a Reply

