Equinox! Delicious!

S on SnowdoniaThis weekend was the Autumnal Equinox. I’m a huge fan of recognizing the changing of the seasons, so I always decorate for them.

Just like seemingly everyone else, I love fall! It’s not my favorite season, but it’s just so wonderful in its own way. (My favorite season, for the record, is spring. There is just nothing better than watching daffodils spring up out of the ground.)

But fall is so wonderful with its seasonal foods and colors, how there is a distinct change in the air all of a sudden that makes being outside feel festive, as if there’s really life going on.

A very good friend of mine came to visit this weekend, and we decorated for autumn.

SAM_2214

We hung autumnal flower garlands above the couch.

SAM_2215

We put some flowers on a new table the Architect made (more details in a later post once it’s completely finished!), and I turned my sad, dead olive tree into regular, happy autumn tree losing its leaves.

SAM_2216

Some autumn flowers in the kitchen.

SAM_2217

And some leaves wrapped into the yarn wall art the Architect made in the entry.

And today, to celebrate the equinox, the Architect and I went to the roof to enjoy my favorite autumn cocktail, the Eenie Beanie Peartini. When I was a baby, my Dad used to call be “Eenie Beanie,” and so the Architect and I invented this drink to serve at our wedding. It’s autumnal and delicious, and reminds me of how much fun our wedding was.

SAM_2218

Eenie Beanie Peartini

1 oz vodka

1.5 oz pear nectar

.5 oz ginger ale

vanilla bean

Mix together the vodka, pear nectar, and ginger ale in a glass of your preference.

SAM_2219

Cut a slit into the vanilla bean, peel it open, and scrape the seeds inside into the glass. Stir.

vanilla bean

 

And them BAM! 

SAM_2242

 

It’s delicious.

SAM_2232

 

 

4 thoughts on “Equinox! Delicious!

  1. Pingback: On Work/Life Balance, as well as tasty cocktails | Two 1/2 Eggs

Leave a Reply

