On Stress Relief: The Benefits of Crying

 

K on treeSo, if you remember, I mentioned in my first post that I would be finishing up my MBA. Well, I finished in the last week! I am finally done with school and now have my MBA. It is excellent news! I will finally have free time, though for the next few weeks it’s going to be pretty much focused on moving, since I’m doing that in three weeks. But, whew, such a load off my shoulders!

After school was done, I felt very happy and relieved and started noticing happy things. After class was over we went out to sushi, where our best friend met us after she got off work. She also finished her grad program this week, though hers was in social policy. We had a tasty cocktail called a Pom Pop, which was sparkling wine with pomegranate juice. It came in a champagne glass and seemed very festive.

The next day, I realized my phone battery was completely dead. I didn’t even get to enjoy my first evening off because I had to go to the phone store to get a new battery. >whine<. But on the way home, I saw something nice. A man dropped a $20 bill, and another man, who was clearly poorer than the first, tapped him on the shoulder and let him know that he dropped his money. Honest people are the best.

So, about stress. Everyone reacts differently. Some people eat when they’re stressed. Some people sleep when they’re stressed. Some people watch tv when they’re stressed. I start running on adrenaline and lose my appetite. It’s completely not healthy. So when I was at the lady doctor this week and learned that I’ve lost 8 pounds in the last 2 months, I realized I must have been a lot more stressed than I thought I was with finishing up school. So, that meant it was time to get the stress out. I told my family that I needed to start eating again, so they started pushing me to eat. Then Saturday night after I’d eaten only half my dinner and wasn’t hungry anymore, they told me I needed to keep eating, and I started to cry. I bawled for about 2 hours to let the stress out. I didn’t even really feel sad, but I couldn’t stop the sobbing. S was nice enough to massage my feet, and the Artist held me while I cried. When I eventually calmed down, I felt a lot better. I think there might be some more stress releases to go, but that was exactly what I needed. I feel much more like myself today, and am even starving. Hopefully that weight will come back soon.

What happens to you guys when you get stressed? And what pulls you out of it?

2 thoughts on “On Stress Relief: The Benefits of Crying

Leave a Reply

